105 US markets · 1021 official sources cited

Short-term rental rules · Sarasota, Florida

Short-term rentals in Sarasota, explained properly.

These rules cover only addresses inside City of Sarasota limits, not unincorporated Sarasota County or Siesta Key, so confirm the city limits first. Inside the city, the Zoning Code treats a home rented for one week or less as transient lodging rather than residential use, and the City states a minimum stay of 7 full days and 7 full nights. Vacation rentals in one- to four-family homes in residential single- and multi-family zones need a City certificate of registration ($500 the first year, $350 to renew each year), an inspection, a City business tax receipt and a state DBPR license; condominiums, co-ops, owner-occupied rentals and rentals of 30 days or more are exempt from registration. Guests are capped at 2 per bedroom plus 2, up to 10 in single-family zones or 12 in multi-family zones. A typical stay is taxed at 13%. Changes to the registration rules are scheduled for an October 19, 2026 hearing.

24 rule fields11 cited sources

Watch Sarasota for rule changes · See every source

At a glance

What you need to know before you buy or list

QuestionAnswer
Minimum stay in residential zonesLonger than one week; the City states 7 full days and 7 full nights[1][2][3][4][5]ClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClause
City vacation rental registration required?Yes: a City certificate of registration for each vacation rental in a one- to four-family home in a residential single- or multi-family zone[4][3]ClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClause
Typical combined lodging tax13%[6][7][8][9]ClauseClauseClauseClauseClause

Watch this market

Want to know when Sarasota's rules change?

We watch Sarasota's official rule pages, council agendas and Florida legislation. When a change affecting short-term rentals is proposed or passed, we email you what changed, when it takes effect, and a link to the source.

Alerts are free. Own in several cities? Pro will track every rule for your whole portfolio.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

Detailed rules

The full picture, section by section

Where the rules apply

Is the address inside City of Sarasota limits?Check first: this page covers the City of Sarasota only[9]Clause

Sarasota County, Longboat Key, North Port and Venice each have their own zoning offices, and the County Tax Collector tells owners to check with the zoning department of the area where the unit is located. Areas outside City limits, including unincorporated Sarasota County and Siesta Key, are not covered by this page.

Owner-occupied rentalsExempt from City registration when the owner lives there and is present during the stay[4]ClauseClauseClause

Chapter 34.5 does not apply where the owner resides on the property and is present on site during the guest stay. Owner occupied means the owner's primary and permanent residence, with the owner present throughout the stay, including overnight. A Florida homestead exemption on the property is conclusive proof. The minimum stay rule in the Zoning Code is separate from this exemption.

Downtown and other zones outside the residential districtsCity registration currently covers residential single- and multi-family zones only[3][10]ClauseClause

The City's registration program applies to one- to four-family homes in the Residential Single and Multi-Family zone districts. A proposed ordinance to extend registration to the Downtown Neighborhood (DTN) zone is scheduled for a public hearing on October 19, 2026 (see changes below). This page makes no claim about whether short stays are allowed in downtown, commercial or other zones; confirm with the City's zoning staff.

Registration, licenses and fees

Registration fees$500 initial application, $350 yearly renewal, $200 late fee, $200 amendment[4][10]ClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClause

Chapter 34.5 sets non-refundable fees of $500 for an initial certificate (also charged when a new owner registers), $350 for each renewal, $200 for a late application, $200 for an amended certificate, $100 for a first re-inspection and $200 each for a second and third re-inspection. A proposed ordinance on the October 19, 2026 agenda would add new fees and increase current ones.

What the registration application needsProof of a City business tax receipt, a state DBPR license, tax arrangements and a passed inspection[4]ClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClause

An initial application must include a copy of the City local business tax receipt (or other proof of payment), a current state DBPR license showing the rental is licensed as a transient public lodging establishment, evidence of arrangements to pay tourist development tax to the Sarasota County Tax Collector and sales and transient rental taxes to the Florida Department of Revenue, and the owner's declaration about the minimum stay rule. A certificate is issued only after an inspection shows the rental meets the chapter's safety and information requirements and other City rules, including zoning.

City business tax receiptRequired; proof must be included with the registration application[4][9]ClauseClause

The registration application must include proof of payment of the City of Sarasota local business tax for the rental, and the County Tax Collector says rental units within city limits must pay the business tax of the city they are in. The amount for a vacation rental is not stated here; ask the City's Local Business Tax office.

RenewalEvery certificate expires December 31; apply to renew between July 1 and October 1[4][3]ClauseClauseClause

Certificates expire on December 31 of the year issued, even if that is less than a year. Renewal applications are filed from July 1 to October 1 each year; the City charges a $200 late fee after the deadline. Each renewal also requires an inspection.

Sale of the propertyCertificates cannot be transferred; a new owner must apply within 15 days[4]ClauseClauseClause

Certificates are non-transferable and non-assignable. When a vacation rental is sold or ownership is transferred, the new owner must apply for a new initial certificate within 15 days; otherwise the old certificate becomes void on the sixteenth day. A new inspection is required.

Operating rules

Maximum occupancy2 per bedroom plus 2, up to 10 in single-family zones or 12 in multi-family zones[4]ClauseClauseClauseClauseClause

Overnight occupancy (11 p.m. to 7 a.m.) is limited to two persons per bedroom plus two more per property, with a ceiling of 10 in residential single-family zones and 12 in multi-family zones. Children under six are not counted. Mainland rentals lawfully operating on February 5, 2024 may host up to 14 through December 31, 2026; after that the standard limit applies. That temporary higher limit ends if the property is sold or has two adjudicated violations.

Designated responsible partyReachable 24/7 and able to come to the rental within one hour[4]ClauseClause

Each registered rental must name one or two designated responsible parties who can be reached by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and who come to the rental within one hour (or as soon as reasonably possible) when notified by an occupant, the owner, the City or law enforcement.

ParkingGuest vehicles must park on the property[4]Clause

All vehicles of vacation rental occupants must be parked in a driveway or parking area on the premises, in line with City ordinances.

AdvertisingListings must show the City registration number and maximum occupancy and respect the minimum stay[4][3]ClauseClauseClause

Every advertisement, including online listings, must display the City vacation rental certificate of registration number, state the rental's maximum occupancy, match the registration information and follow the minimum stay requirement.

Penalties and suspensionEach day is a separate violation; certificates can be suspended from the second violation[4]ClauseClauseClauseClauseClause

Code violations are heard by the City's special magistrate, who can assess penalties under the City Code and suspend a certificate: 30 days for a second violation, 60 for a third, 90 for a fourth and 30 more for each later one, up to 360 days. No guests may stay while a certificate is suspended. Each day a violation continues is a separate violation. The fine amounts are not stated here.

Taxes

Sarasota County tourist development tax6%, paid to the Sarasota County Tax Collector[9][8]ClauseClauseClauseClauseClauseClause

Sarasota County charges a 6% tourist development tax on rent for stays of six months or less, including fees in the rent such as cleaning and pet fees. It is paid to the Sarasota County Tax Collector. Airbnb and HomeAway (and affiliated sites) collect and remit it for bookings made on their sites; owners must collect and remit it for bookings made elsewhere.

Sarasota County discretionary sales surtax1%[7]Clause

Sarasota County's discretionary sales surtax is 1%, effective September 1, 1989 through December 31, 2039, charged on top of the 6% state sales tax.

State law that also applies

Can local governments ban vacation rentals?No new bans; older local rules may still apply[5]Clause

Florida Statutes § 509.032(7)(b) says a local law, ordinance or regulation may not prohibit vacation rentals or regulate how long or how often they are rented. Local rules adopted on or before June 1, 2011 are exempt from this limit, so some older local rules on rental length can still apply. Section 509.032(7)(a) also reserves the regulation of public lodging establishments (sanitation, inspections and similar matters) to the state, while local governments keep building-code and fire-code inspections. Local governments can still require registration and set other rules that do not ban rentals or limit their length or frequency.

State vacation rental license required?Yes — DBPR vacation rental license for whole-unit rentals[11]Clause

The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), Division of Hotels and Restaurants, licenses vacation rentals. A license is needed when an entire unit is rented more than three times in a calendar year for periods of less than 30 days or one calendar month, whichever is less, or when the unit is advertised or held out to the public as a place regularly rented to guests. Houses, townhouses and buildings of up to four units take a Vacation Rental – Dwelling license; condominium and cooperative units take a Vacation Rental – Condominium license. Renting single rooms rather than the whole unit does not need a DBPR license, though local rules may still apply. Current licenses must be displayed in a conspicuous place on the premises.

State vacation rental license fee$50 application + $10 education fee + license fee ($170/year for a single unit)[11]Clause

New DBPR vacation rental applications pay a $50 application fee, a $10 Hospitality Education Program fee and a license fee. For a single rental unit the full-year license fee is $170 (half-year $90); group licenses for 2 to 25 units are $180 (half-year $95), with higher tiers for more units. Renewals pay the $10 education fee plus the full-year license fee. Renewal and half-year dates depend on the county's DBPR district.

State sales tax registration required?Yes — register with the Florida Department of Revenue[6]Clause

Anyone who rents, leases, lets or grants a license to use transient accommodations must register with the Florida Department of Revenue to collect, report and remit sales tax.

State sales tax on short stays6% plus any county surtax[6]Clause

Florida's 6% state sales tax, plus any applicable county discretionary sales surtax, applies to rent paid for living, sleeping or housekeeping accommodations rented for six months or less.

County tourist development taxSet by each county; most counties collect it directly[8][6]ClauseClause

Counties (and certain cities) may add a local option transient rental tax, such as a tourist development tax, on rentals of six months or less, on top of the 6% state sales tax and any surtax. The Department of Revenue's rate table lists each county's rate and who collects it. Most counties administer the tax themselves, and in those counties it is reported and paid directly to the county rather than to the state.

Changes

Recent and pending changes

We checked the City of Sarasota Code of Ordinances on Municode (Supplement 33, online July 29, 2026, codified through Ordinance 26-5592) including Chapter 34.5 Vacation Rentals and Chapter 19 Local Business Taxes; the Zoning Code on Municode (Supplement 44, online August 6, 2026, codified through Ordinance 25-5583) including sections II-304 and VI-202; the City's vacation rental registration page; City Commission, Planning Board and other board agendas and video indexes from January 2025 to October 2026; the Sarasota County Tax Collector's tourist tax page; and the state licensing and tax guidance. Two ordinances changing Chapter 34.5 are on the October 19, 2026 City Commission agenda. Unincorporated Sarasota County and Siesta Key are not covered here.

Oct 19, 2026
Proposed Ordinance 26-5602: registration extended to the Downtown Neighborhood (DTN) zoneProposed[10]ClauseClause

On March 2, 2026 the City Commission voted to expand the vacation rental program to the Downtown Neighborhood (DTN) zone district. Proposed Ordinance 26-5602, which would apply Chapter 34.5 to vacation rentals in the DTN zone, is scheduled for a public hearing at the October 19, 2026 City Commission meeting. It has not been adopted.

Oct 19, 2026
Proposed Ordinance 26-5613: registration procedures, definitions and higher feesProposed[10]ClauseClause

Proposed Ordinance 26-5613 would amend Chapter 34.5 to clarify registration and renewal procedures, update application and inspection requirements, add and change definitions, add new inspection and responsible-party change fees, increase current fees and clarify advertising rules. It is scheduled for a public hearing at the October 19, 2026 City Commission meeting. It has not been adopted.

Oct 6, 2025
Ordinance 25-5560: Chapter 34.5 amendmentsEnacted[4]Clause

Adopted October 6, 2025, Ordinance 25-5560 amended the vacation rental chapter, including the fee schedule, application, inspection, occupancy and advertising sections. The rules on this page reflect the amended chapter.

Sources

Every rule above links to one of these

Newsletter

Not tracking Sarasota specifically?

One email a month with STR rule changes across the US markets we track.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

Questions

Managing properties in several cities?

Tell us what you're trying to decide and which markets you operate in. We read every message.

Email [email protected]

This page is general information compiled from public sources, not legal or tax advice. HOA rules, deed restrictions and zoning for a specific property can be stricter. Confirm with the local permitting office and a qualified professional before buying or listing a property.